AllFreePapers.com - All Free Papers and Essays for All Students
Search

Law 531 - Alternative Dispute Resolution Paper

Autor:   •  July 2, 2016  •  Term Paper  •  933 Words (4 Pages)  •  449 Views

Page 1 of 4

Alternative Dispute Resolution Paper

Arian George

LAW/531

June 28, 2016

Norma Sutton


Alternative Dispute Resolution Paper

There are so many laws on a state level that vary from state to state. I think that it is very interesting that something that one state does is something another does not do at all. Something that I have seen where that is very true is in my field. I work as an assistant manager at an apartment complex in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and there are many laws when it comes to housing. They are all very similar in rules but yet some states have different ways of doing things than different states. One state that seems to have very different laws from New Mexico is Texas, when it comes the way that their apartments are ran vs. ours.

New Mexico Laws

In New Mexico the landlords have to divulge details about who gets to act on the landlords behalf (NOLO, 2016) . This would be in the lease along with most of the information that will be reviewed here. New Mexico limits the amount that can be charged for a deposit to a month rent, and says that it has to be returned within 30 days of the tenant moving if they get anything back after damages (NOLO, 2016). With people moving out whether the landlords tell them they have to leave or the tenants tells the landlord they are leaving there needs to be a 30 day notices that must be given. Landlords also have to give a three day notice if the payment is past due. After which they can file eviction if it is not paid (NOLO, 2016). One other law is that landlords have the ability to evict residents if they continuously violate the terms of their lease, such as noise violation, within a six month time frame.

Texas Laws

In Texas the laws are similar. Texas must also have to divulge who will act on behalf of the landlord (NOLO Tx, 2016). In regards to deposits is that Texas does not have a limit on how much they can charge for a security deposit, but they do still have to have any money returned within 30 days of the resident moving out (NOLO Tx, 2016). There was nothing stated about either the tenant or the landlord having to give a 30 day notice when the tenant vacates. It does however state they have to also give a three day notice when there is an unpaid balance. After which they can also file for eviction (NOLO Tx, 2016). Finally in Texas they also have the option to evict a resident for continuously violating the terms of their lease, such as having an unauthorized tenant in the apartment, can go through the eviction process (NOLO Tx, 2016).

...

Download as:   txt (5.2 Kb)   pdf (87.1 Kb)   docx (9 Kb)  
Continue for 3 more pages »